Thomas Wolsey school logo
Welcome to Thomas Wolsey Ormiston Academy which is an


“Outstanding” academy for children aged from 3-16 with physical and/or sensory needs.


We are co-located with Ormiston Endeavour Academy. 


 twitter  facebook

 Tel 01473 467600

 Defoe Road, Ipswich, IP1 6SG






Our Overall Curriculum Structure and Delivery



Early Years Foundation Stage


Pupils are able to join our Nursery at the age of three.  From here, pupils remaining at the school feed into one of two classes - Rabbits, (our Key Stage 1 class) or Monkeys, (our Primary Sensory class).  Pupils can attend morning sessions whilst in the Nursery and follow the Early Years Foundation Curriculum. There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our educationalprogrammes. They are all important and inter-connected.  The three principle areas are: communication and language, physical development and personal, social and emotional development  In addition to these,  In addition to these, there are four further through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.  These are: literacy, mathematics, understanding the world and expressive arts and design.

Key Stage 1


Pupils joining our Key Stage 1 class, (Rabbits) follow a more conventional educational programmes. They are introduced to phonics and begin to access our reading scheme for example. Learning through play still forms an important part of the curriculum.  Pupils joining our Primary sensory class, (Monkeys) follow a sensory curriculum with a strong therapy focus. The structure of their eductional programmes is guided by the Early Years Foundation categories. 

Key Stage 2


There are a number of classes at Key Stage 2.  Some sensory pupils may remain in our Primary sensory class, (Monkeys) whilst others will join one of our other groups: Butterflies, Hedgehogs, Owls or Foxes.  Butterflies and Hedgehogs tend to cater for younger Key Stage 2 pupils, whilst older Key Stage 2 pupils tend to join Owls or Foxes.  Each class tailors its curriculum to meet the needs of its pupils, Butterflies for example, provides educational programmes with a strong sensory element whilst pupils in Foxes are introduced to a curriculum which prepares them for their Secondary education.

Key Stage 3


When pupils arrive in the Secondary Department, they join either our Secondary sensory class, (Wonder) or Da Vinci Class.  Pupils in Wonder class follow a sensory progamme with a strong therapy focus which includes sessions such as TACPAC and Sensology.  Pupils in Da Vinci Class access most mainstream subjects including English, Maths, Science, Art, DT, Swimming and PE.  These are all taught as discrete lessons.  Other curriculum subjects, such as ICT, RE, PSHE, History and Geography are taught through a topic approach for one and a half days a week.  At Thomas Wolsey we call these Creative Learning Days. For one afternoon a week, pupils come together with their peers in the rest of the department to be taught Life Skills.  These are variable and match the needs and interests of the individual.  Pupils joining the sensory class follow programmes with a strong sensory element and focus on developing their communication and independence skills.

Key Stage 4


Pupils in Key Stage 4 follow a curriculum which focuses heavily on encouraging independence and preparing them for transition.  Pupils in Wonder Class (our Secondary sensory class) continue to follow programmes with a stong therapy focus, (see above - Key Stage 3). Pupils in Mandela Class continue to access English, Maths, Science, Art, DT, Swimming and PE as discrete subjects and join their Secondary peers one afternoon a week for Life Skills.  Whilst continuing to access other subjects such as ICT, RE and PSHE, Year 11 pupils, (from both Wonder and Mandela Classes) also spend one morning a week preparing specifically for transition.  This involves visiting colleges on the College Link Programme, undertaking Travel Training for some, taking part in Work Experience or Work Shadowing and learning about life beyond school in Work Related Learning lessons at school.  In addition to these subjects, all Key Stage 4 pupils also have a weekly session of Expressive Arts.  Here they learn through creative subjects such as Music, Dance, Drama and Art and have the opportunity to take part in performances at various locations across Suffolk.  All pupils at Key Stage 4, whether in Mandela or Wonder Class, follow accredited educational programmes.  All pupils leave with a wide range of accreditation.